Ward Committee Elections

Election of Ward Committee Candidates

Each ward has 10 ward committee members. In theory, you choose which portfolio you want to be involved with. In practice, often members are drawn from the various suburbs or interest groups in the ward.  It is chaired by the councillor and the members are supposed to be apolitical and play a supportive role to the councillor.

You have to be elected to be on the committee and need to fill out an application form. The IEC will oversee the election process and usually one of the voting stations in a  ward is used. You must live in the ward, must be over 18 and be a registered voter (i.e. a SA citizen). If only 10 people apply, then no elections held. It pays a small stipend to cover travelling costs. You stay on the Ward Committee for the period of the current political term – i.e. until the next municipal election in 2021. Nominations open on 1st November and close on the 25th November.

Please pass on to interested residents.

All submissions need to be delivered to Vuyiswa Thomas at the Region E Offices situated at 137 Daisy street Sandown. (corner of Daisy street and Grayson Drive)


Kind regards

Cllr. Vincent Earp





Leave a Reply